Incumbents return, new faces added to Six Nations of the Grand River

OHSWEKEN — Six Nations of the Grand River General Election was held on Saturday and saw all of the six incumbent councillors running re-elected and a three new faces added to the new council.

Returning to the council are Hazel Johnson, Sherri-Lyn Hill Pierce, Audrey Powless-Bomberry, Kerry Bomberry, Melba Thomas and Helen Miller.

Three new councillors, Wendelyn Johnson, Nathan Wright and Michelle Bomberry join the 58th General Council this term.

Former councillor Mark Hill was the successful candidate for chief, winning with 700 votes.

Sasha Maracle won the role as Non-Resident Trustee member to the Six Nations Community Development Trust.

The new council was sworn in at Tuesday’s General Council meeting and will sit for 4 years through to 2023, according to changes to the community’s election code.

Six Nations of the Grand River General Election

Candidates for Chief
Mark B. Hill – 700

Unsuccessful Candidates
Cynthia L. Jamieson – 517
Harvey Powless – 286
Courtney Skye – 213

Candidates for Councillors
Sherri Lyn Hill-Pierce – 920
Melba I. Thomas – 842
Audrey Powless-Bomberry – 781
Michelle J. Bomberry – 776
Wendelyn Johnson – 682
Hazel Johnson – 680
Rheva Helen Miller – 654
Nathan Wright – 628
Kerry Bomberry – 612

Unsuccessful Candidates
Alaina M. VanEvery – 589
Greg Fraser – 571
Rodney Whitlow – 439
Lynn T. Bomberry – 431
Derek Bomberry – 420
Rhonda Martin – 307
Crystal Gale Monture – 281
Nicoli Wilson-Wyman – 262

Related Posts