Snipers claim ALL titles across three divisions

SIX NATIONS — After the Six Nations Lady Snipers and U22 Snipers finished in first place in their divisions, it was only natural for spectators to fill in the Iroquois Lacrosse Arena to see if there would be a third division from Six Nations claimed in the Arena Lacrosse League.

The mens division Six Nations Snipers were the cream of the crop during their Arena Lacrosse League (ALL) regular season, performing a league-best 10-2 regular season record before winning both of their playoff matches.

Last Saturday, they held their own against the St. Catharines Shockwave, but the game pushed into a heart-stopping OT.

The first quarter gave the lead to the Shockwave 4-2, seeing Snipers goals from Justin Martin and Kevin Owen Hill. The second quarter opened for the Snipers to pull their socks up with the first lead: goals came from Johnny Powless, Tye Argent, Tyler Brown (2), Chayton King, and Scott Del Zotto.

The third quarter saw some push back as the Shockwave cycled the game forward 8-10, leaving just a two goal deficit to pan. Snipers goals came from Chayton King, and Jordan Goddard to maintain the lead. By the fourth quarter, the game went up in the air as either team could close the game. Finishing in a tie 12-12, the Snipers put away goals from Scott Del Zotto (2) and Justin Martin before heading into over-time.

The over-time period was put forth as sudden death, with various plays and acts by both teams bringing spectators to the endless of their seats. In the end, the Snipers put away the thirteenth goal, closing the game 13-12 for the Snipers.

They kept their momentum last Sunday as well with a strong offensive core, taking on the Whitby Steelhawks in the ALL Championship final.

Playing again on home soil, the Snipers peeled away in the first quarter with a lead of 5-1. Goals came from Tyler Brown, Scott Del Zotto, Jeremy Bomberry, Wesley Whitlow and Travis Longboat. A higher scoring quarter, the second 15-minutes saw goals from Scott Del Zotto (3), and Travis Longboat (2), closing the time 10-5 for the Snipers.

The third quarter opened with little hope for the Steelhawks, seeing Snipers goals from Jeremy Bomberry, Scott Del Zotto and Tye Argent — keeping the five-goal lead. By the fourth quarter, the decision seemed to be solidified, but the game waged on — goals came from Travis Longboat, Justin Martin and Mike McLaughlin. This finished the game 16-11 for the Snipers.

Snipers Scott Del Zotto was named the MVP of the match as he netted five goals and added three assists for an eight-point performance.

The Snipers squad capped off the 2022 campaign on a higher note, downing the visiting Whitby Steelhawks 16-11 for the ALL Cup, the third division title to be named to Six Nations for 2022.

Related Posts