Province awards six indigenous youth writers

TORONTO – Six talented young indigenous writers from across Ontario were awarded the James Bartleman Aboriginal Youth Creative Writing Award.

The award celebrates the work of Indigenous youth and encourages them to share their unique perspective and experiences with a broader audience.

The Honourable Elizabeth Dowdeswell, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, presented the awards at a Queen’s Park ceremony.

Dowdeswell said, ”These six young authors are changing our world for the better. They are contributing to a dialogue beyond their own communities and inspiring Ontarians to take notice of what it means to be an Indigenous youth in our province.”

Also present for the ceremony was the Honourable James Bartleman, 27th Lieutenant Governor of Ontario and Dr. Shafiq Qaadri, MPP and Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration.

Bartleman said, “Each year, I am inspired by powerful submissions put forward by Indigenous youth from across the province. These six recipients are pillars of strength and courage, as they share their unique perspectives, which are essential to understanding our First Nations communities.”

Minister of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation David Zimmer said, ”The six young recipients announced today are role models to us all. They exemplify courage and strength as they share the reality of life as Indigenous youth in today’s Ontario. They are an example of how reconciliation can help make a difference in the lives of everyone in Ontario.”

Related Posts