Community selects Mississaugas of the Credit chief and council nominees for general election

The Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation are heading to the polls this December, with two familiar candidates possibly vying for the Chief’s position.

Preliminary nominations were selected on Saturday, meaning candidates have been nominated and seconded by a community member but they have until tomorrow (Nov. 4) to withdraw their names.

Jai King-Green, who was nominated for a councillor position, has already withdrawn her name via a Facebook post.

Two long-running candidates have been nominated for Chief, including incumbent Chief Stacey Laforme. Larry Sault, a former chief and councillor, was also nominated for the Chief’s position. Chief Stacey Laforme has held his position since 2015, when former longtime Chief Bryan LaForme passed the torch and announced he would not run again.

Also nominated for one of seven council seats are: Evan Sault (incumbent), Veronica King-Jamieson (incumbent), Ashley Sault, Erma Ferrell (incumbent), Fawn Sault, Kim Sault, Casey Jonathan, Karen Andrea King, and Ralph Kelly Laforme.

Withdrawal forms must be handed in by 6 p.m. on Nov. 4. The polling station for the general election will open at 9 a.m. on Dec. 11 at the Mississaugas of the Credit Community Centre. Polls close at 8 p.m.

Related Posts