Ron “Mouse” Henry takes helm as Demons head coach

OHSWEKEN – The Ohsweken Demons will be opening the new Canadian Lacrosse League season with Ron “Mouse” Henry behind the bench as head coach, assisted by Roger Chrysler.

Henry coached the now-defunct Iroquois Ironmen to the 2013 Creators Cup and comes to the Demons with a strong coaching background, having coached the NLL’s Buffalo Bandits and the Iroquois Nationals indoor team. He is also currently part of the 2014 Mann Cup Champion Six Nations Chiefs of the OLA Major Series.

Returning to hIs assistant coach role from last season is Randy Chrysler. This year will see him reunite with Henry, whom he won the 2013 Creator’s Cup with as part of the Iroquois Ironmen staff. Chrysler has also coached with the Jr. B Niagara Thunderhawks since 2012. The Thunderhawks coaching staff have been named the West Division Jr. B Coaches of the Year for the past two seasons.

Elsewhere around the league, this year will also see the Southwest Cyclops bring professional lacrosse to the town of Paris, and will play out of the Syl Apps Arena. Last season they shared the Iroquois Lacrosse Arena for their home games.

After two seasons in St. Catharines’ Seymour Hannah Arena, the Niagara Lock Monsters will be moving into the new Meridian Centre in downtown St. Catharines for the 2015 season.

The new downtown multi-purpose facility is located at 1 Ice Dogs Way, formerly known as the lower level parking lot. The new arena, which is also home to the OHL’s Niagara Ice Dogs, has a capacity of 4500 for sporting events, and boasts parking for more than 1300 vehicles at nearby City parking lots and garages.

Niagara Lock Monsters’ General Manager, Dave Colbourne said, “We are looking forward to bringing Lock Monsters lacrosse to the downtown core. This beautiful and modern facility will not only be fantastic for the players, but our fans as well, as we begin our quest to bring another CLax Championship to Niagara.”

The Niagara Lock Monsters announced their coaches for the 2015 Season, as well. Congratulations go out to Matt Attwood, Clancy Almas and Garrett Ball for getting the nod.
CLax is about to begin its 3rd season of professional lacrosse.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *