99th Annual Santa Fe Indian Market Announces Best of Show Winners 

SANTA FE — For 99 years, Santa Fe Indian Market, the world’s largest and most prestigious Native American art market, has awarded Best of Show winners to the nation’s most exceptional artists in a variety of juried categories.

Thirty experts in various media spent all day August 19, reviewing and critiquing this year’s entries to determine the winners. The announcement of Best of Show and Best of Class winners was made public at the Best of Show Luncheon on Friday afternoon.

Best of Show Winner Rhonda Holy Bear Bear (Cheyenne River Sioux) and her winning Doll, “Lakota Honor- Sees the Horses Woman.” photo©Tira Howard for SWAIA/ Santa Fe Indian Market

This year’s overall Best of Show winner is Rhonda Holy Bear’s Doll, “Lakota Honor- Sees the Horses Woman.” Holy Bear is from the Cheyenne River Sioux Nation.

This year’s Best of Class winners by classification are:

Class I: Jewelry Denise Wallace — Chugach Sugpiaq

“Origins, Roots and Sources”

Class II: PotteryRobert Patricio — Pueblo of Acoma

“Raining Dawn to Dusk”

Class III: Painting, Drawing, Graphics & Photography 
Thomas Tapia — Pueblo of Tesuque

Watercolor, “Buffalo Elk Dance”

Class IV: Wooden Pueblo Figurative Carving & Sculpture
Arthur Holmes Jr. — Hopi

Carving, “Broken Arrow”

Class V: SculptureRaymond Chee Sr. — Navajo/Diné

Sculpture, “Healing into the Night”

Class VI: TextilesTyler Glasses — Navajo/ Diné

Weaving, “Poncho for Days”

Class VII: Diverse Arts Dana Warrington — Menominee/ Potawatomi

Taxidermy, Otter wearing leather, quillwork, beadwork, lapidary, silver, weaving and feathers.
“Defending the Homeland”

Class VIII: Beadwork & QuillworkRhonda Holy Bear — Cheyenne River Sioux

Doll, “Lakota Honor-Sees the Horses Woman”

Class XI: BasketryJeremey Frey — Passamaquoddy

Double wall ash basket, “Malsom (Wolf)”

Class IX: Youth (artists aged 17 and under)
Aydrian Day — Anishinaabe, Lakota, Hochunk

Beaded elk hide bag, “Mishkiikii Ode (Medicine of the Heart)”

Special Youth Awards:2nd Place Youth: Kiiyaanni Reeves — Navajo/ Diné

3rd Place Youth: Mosgadace Casuse — Anishinaabe/ Navajo/ Diné

Related Posts