First Nations Rock at 2015 Juno Awards

The 2015 Juno Awards, which recognizes Canadian musical talent from across the country, was held in Hamilton this past weekend. Alongside the event were number of shows and gatherings held to honour indigenous talent.

Juno weekend launched the City of Hamilton’s first Art Crawl of the year. The night was lively and Homegrown Hamilton hosted a show with The Ollivanders and OL’ CD.

Six Nations’ own Jace Martin performed on stage Saturday night as a part of JUNOFest 2015 along with Crystal Shawanda, Leela Gilday and Digging Roots. The concert was fantastic and was sponsored by Jukasa Media Group.

A ceremonial gathering held in downtown Hamilton acknowledged the indigenous nominees and honoured the host communities of Six Nations and New Credit. Six Nations artists Chilly Chase and Lacey Hill both gave stunning performances alongside the White Pine Dancers and Blue Stone Cloud Drummers.

Later that night the 2015 Juno Gala Dinner & Awards was packed with Ongwehowe talent and energy as five indigenous artists were among those recognized for the APTN sponsored award Aboriginal Album of the Year.

The award was presented by Metis songwriter Amanda Rheume and APTN’s Sky Bridges. Nominated for Aboriginal Album of the Year were Crystal Shawanda, Leela Gilday, Tanya Tagaaq, Tomson Highway and the Digging Roots.

The award was given to Tanya Tagaaq for her latest release Animism. Tagaaq was on tour and not present to receive the award, but she sent a statement through her management to be read, thanking her co-nominees and honouring the work they have done.

Tagaaq was previously awarded the 2014 Polaris Music Prize for Animism. The album also received a second Juno nomination for this year’s Alternative Album of the Year.

A number of artists present also wore designs by Haudenosaune fashion designer Angela DeMontigny. Canadian pop duo Scarlet Jane and Tom Wilson of Blackie & the Rodeo Kings looked great in her fashions and proudly boasted about their exclusive looks.

The 2016 Juno Awards will be hosted in Calgary.

Related Posts