30th Indspire Awards celebrates three decades of achievement

The 2023 Indspire Awards will honour 12 exceptional Indigenous achievers and will also commemorate 30 years of Indigenous excellence, welcoming past Indspire laureates.

The award ceremony will be celebrated during a star-studded gala on May 11 at the Edmonton Convention Centre. It will feature live performances by Aysanabee, Riit, and Notorious Cree, and dynamic public speaker Stan Wesley will emcee.

“The 2023 Indspire Awards will be a multilayered celebration, one which honours the 2023 Indspire laureates as well as the hundreds of laureates who have received accolades in the three decades since the Awards’ inception,” said Mike DeGagné, president and CEO of Indspire. “Bringing these generations of Indigenous achievers together will make this a particularly noteworthy and meaningful celebration and we invite you to be part of the circle of friends, partners, and supporters who have made this 30th anniversary possible.”

The stories of the 2023 Indspire laureates will be shared in a nationally broadcast celebration that showcases the diversity and accomplishments of Indigenous peoples in Canada. The award ceremony will be broadcast nationwide in June on CBC TV, CBC Gem, CBC Radio One, the CBC Listen app and APTN.

Tickets are currently available on Indspire’s website, with a number of options available: per table ($5000) or per ticket ($500 regular ticket, $150 student ticket).

Air Canada is also offering attendees a special 15 per cent discount for all bookings made before May 1.

“To recognize the 2023 Indspire Award laureates, a celebration dinner will take place at the Edmonton Convention Centre in Edmonton. The event will include an evening reception, dinner, and post-reception where stories and accomplishments of laureates present and past will be shared with guests,” reads Indspire’s website.

Indspire provided more than $23 million through 6,612 bursaries and scholarships to First Nations, Inuit and Métis students across Canada from 2021 to 2022.

Related Posts