Founders Cup Goes to Akwesasne

CALGARY — If it wasn’t going to be the Six Nations Rebels winning its fifth straight national title, at least the Founders Cup is amongst family. The Akwesasne Indians completed the annual Jr. B lacrosse pinnacle series with a perfect 6-0 record to win the chalice for 2015.

The Rebels were put out of contention by the Indians for the OLA Championship, three games to one.

Akwsesasne opened in Calgary with a 15-5 win over the Manitoba Blizzard on August 18th, and followed that with a much closer 11-10 final against the Saskatchewan SWAT.

Thursday, Aug. 20, they demolished the host Calgary Chill, 23-6 and on Friday, they downed the Coquitlam Jr. B Adanacs, 18-5. Their last two games were both against the Seneca Warchiefs with Saturday’s semi-final win of 17-8 setting up for the gold medal game.

Russ Oakes, Sky Sunday and Seth Oaks scored for Akwesasne before halfway through the first period. Seneca Warchiefs’ Brandon Brooks scored their only goal of the period before Blaze Riorden made it 4-1 after 20 minutes.

Seneca rallied in the second on goals scored by Lucas Beaver, Larson Sundown and Brooks’ second of the game. Deth Oaks scored the lone Akwesasne goal to end the second period with the Indians holding a narrow 5-4 lead.

The Warchiefs evened things up at 1:53 of the third but Adam Bomberry restored the lead for the Indians at 10:08. Marvin Curry sent the game into extra time at 15:15.

Seneca seemed to have spent what energy they had left in forcing the OT period, but the Indians had plenty in the tank and scored the only three goals of the OT period to win the 2015 Presidents Cup.

Sam Verville earned the win in the Akwesasne goal while Hunyahdengowah Abrams suffered the loss for the Warchiefs.

Related Posts