Minto Cup Cancelled Amongst 10 National Championships

OTTAWA —Lacrosse Canada announced today the cancellation of the 2021 Minto Cup. This decision follows Lacrosse Canada’s announcement last month of the cancellation of 10 National Championships.

The Minto Cup is the Junior A Lacrosse National Championship, competed in by the provincial champions of the BC Junior A Lacrosse League (BCJALL), the Rocky Mountain Lacrosse League (RMLL), and the Ontario Junior A Lacrosse League (OJALL). For around 75 years, this trophy has been presented to Canada’s top junior men’s lacrosse team.

“Lacrosse Canada continues to keep the health and safety of our lacrosse community as a top priority at this time,” said Shawn Williams, Lacrosse Canada President. “We recognize that the Minto Cup is an event that many Junior A players and fans look forward to each year. Lacrosse Canada, the BCJALL, the RMLL and the OJALL look forward to holding an unforgettable Minto Cup event in 2022.”

To clarify, this is not a cancellation of the lacrosse season in Canada. Junior A lacrosse will take place, with the BCJALL, RMLL and OJALL planning modified lacrosse seasons in accordance with their provincial health and safety regulations. The three leagues support their provincial association’s Return to Play guidelines and protocols and are looking to hold competitions within their provinces this summer if allowed.

The BCJALL, RMLL and OJALL expressed their support of the cancellation of the 2021 Minto Cup. The three leagues look forward to competing in the Minto Cup next year.

Related Posts