Presidents Cup amongst Lacrosse Cancellations

Lacrosse Canada has announced the cancellation of the 2021 U19 Jenny Kyle Cup and President’s Cup. This decision follows Lacrosse Canada’s prior announcements cancelling 11 National Championships.

Six Nations has held much success within the cup championship, with the Six Nations Rivermen winning the title in 2019. Six Nations scored 6 goals in the first period of the gold-medal game en route to a 9-5 win over Akwesasne to clinch their first Senior B championship since 2015 that year.

The U19 Jenny Kyle Cup is the U19 Women’s Field Lacrosse National Championship. This decision was made with the support of the Women’s Field Sector. The 2021 host will be granted the right of first refusal to host in 2022.

The President’s Cup, the Senior ‘B’ Men’s Box Lacrosse National Championship, will also be cancelled for 2021. This decision was made in consultation with the Box Sector. The 2021 host will also have the right of first refusal to host in 2022.

“It has not been an easy decision to cancel our National Championships for a second year in a row. Lacrosse Canada and our Member Associations are working together to ensure the safety of our lacrosse community as our sport begins resuming in different stages across the country,” said Shawn Williams, Lacrosse Canada President.

Related Posts