Rebels celebrate 2017 with awards

SIX NATIONS – The Jr. B Six Nations Rebels handed out the hardware Sunday at the ILA Banquet facility at the Rebels Annual Banquet and Awards gathering.

After a great regular season and early success in the playoffs, the Rebels could not get past the Orangeville Northmen and were eliminated in the playoffs.

Rookie coach Miles General guided the team to a solid 19-1 regular season for first in the Division before bowing out 3-1 to the Northmen in the Western Finals.

Rebels high scorer was Layne Smith with an amazing 72-goals and 40-assists for a total of 112 points last season for the Gaylord Powless Memorial Trophy. He also won the Ross Powless, MVP award.

The Blaire Martin Memorial Trophy for Rookie of the Year went to Riley Miller and two of last season’s Rebels shared the Most Dedicated, Cap Bomberry Award. Chayton King and Daniel Hill earned the honour.

The all-round player of the year, Buck Smith Award winner was Kevin Owen Hill.

The Ruth Isaacs Memorial Trophy winner was Tanner Baldwin.

The Clayton Sandy Award for most sportsmanlike player was won by Drayton Martin.

The Craig Monture Memorial Award winner was Justin Martin and Josh Miller was awarded the Most Inspirational Player, and received the Karen Kathleen Rose Hill Memorial Award.

The Frank Maracle Memorial award winner was Edward Leggatt. The Keegan Hill Memorial Trophy for “Unsung Hero” was Kevin Owen Hill.

The team’s Carney Elijah Johnson Memorial Trophy as he Heart and Soul of last years Rebels was Riley Montour.

The Curtis Ellis Hill Volunteer of the year award winner was Fern Vyse while the Leroy Jamieson Award for bench staff went to Nic Skye.

Related Posts