Young Six Nations lacrosse players on the radar

NEW YORK – The Tewaaraton Foundation based in the USA has announced the 2015 Tewaaraton Award men’s and women’s watch lists. The lists include the top 50 players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the 2015 Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour.

Last year’s co-winner, Lyle Thompson of Albany University, returns on the men’s side, along with Six Nations of the Grand River’s Randy Staats from Syracuse University and Zed Williams, who is attending the University of Virginia.

“The national reach of quality players is evident in this list, with players from all regions of the country, along with a strong group of five former winners and finalists,” said Jeff Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “As the season unfolds, we are excited for another deserving group of Tewaaraton Award candidates to emerge and we look forward to welcoming them to Washington, D.C. in May.”

The Tewaaraton Award annually honours the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

The lists include the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 7 and invited to the ceremony. The Tewaaraton Award Ceremony will be held in Washington, D.C., on May 28, 2015, at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian.

About the Tewaaraton Foundation

The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honouring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage and is endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse. The Tewaaraton Foundation is a non-profit organization that defines the mission and upholds the integrity of the Tewaaraton Award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about the Tewaaraton Foundation, visit

Related Posts