Electoral Officer releases official list of nominees for Six Nations Elected Council

OHSWEKEN — Six Nations is entering into an election and the official list of candidates was released Tuesday morning.

Earlier unofficial lists saw 4 candidates nominated for elected chief and 21 band members nominated to run for elected council.

Those nominees had time to consider accepting their nomination.

All four candidates for Six Nations elected chief have accepted. Cynthia Jamieson, Harvey Powless, Mark Hill and Courtney Skye are all running to serve as elected chief.

Four people dropped out of the running for the elected council members — leaving 17 of the 21 candidates looking to claim 9 seats.

Current elected council member Carl Hill was nominated but does not appear on the list of confirmed nominees. Hill previously expressed frustration that minimum education requirement changes to the Six Nations Election Code that come into effect this term would exclude him from running for another term as he does not have a high school diploma.

Also leaving the list of nominees are Brenda Johnson, Coleen Davis and Chad General.

Of the current council members just six are seeking re-election as councillors. Audrey Powless-Bomberry, Sherri-Lyn Hill-Pierce, Hazel Johnson, Helen Miller, Melba Thomas, and Kerry Bomberry are in the running.

The 11 new candidates are: Derek Bomberry, Lynn Bomberry, Michelle Bomberry, Greg Fraser, Wendelyn Johnson, Rhonda Martin, Crysal Monture, Alaina VanEvery, Nick Wyman, Rodney Whitlow and Nathan Wright.

Six Nations Electoral Officer Steve Williams clarified how elections will go now that the community’s election code has removed district voting and transitioned to overall popular vote.

Williams says Six Nations citizens will have 1 vote for elected chief and can vote for up to 9 elected council candidates.

SNEC said in an emailed statement that band members will be eligible to participate in electronic voting this time around.

One Feather, the same company that managed the Citizenship Code referendum voting earlier in 2019 will oversee the 2019 general election.

Online voting begins on Thursday, October 17. Advance polls will be open to the community on November 2 and the general election will be held on November 9.

Related Posts