Indigenous artists nominated for Juno Awards

TORONTO — The 2024 Juno Award nominations were announced with 19 Indigenous artists in the running.

Three Indigenous artists are nominated for Contemporary Roots Album of the Year: Julian Taylor, Logan Staats and William Prince.

In the Songwriter of the Year category there are two Indigenous nominees: Aysanabee and William Prince.

In the Adult Alternative Album of the Year category there are also two Indigenous nominees: Shawnee Kiss and Jeremy Dutcher.

The Indigenous nominees for the 2024 Juno Awards are:

Contemporary Indigenous artist or group of the year:

Here and Now, Aysanabee 

Scream, Holler & Howl, Blue Moon Marquee 

Inuktitut, Elisapie 

Revolution, Shawnee Kish 

Bekka Ma’iingan, Zoon 

Traditional Indigenous Artist or Group of the Year:

Sing. Pray. Love., Joel Wood 

LFS5, Nimkii and the Niniis 

Mitòòdebi (For My Relatives), the Bearhead Sisters 

Reverie, the Red River Ramblers 

Drum Nation, Young Scouts 

Contemporary Roots Album of the Year:

Beyond the Reservoir, Julian Taylor 

A Light in the Attic, Logan Staats 

Stand in the Joy, William Prince 

Songwriter of the Year:

Aysanabee: “Alone” (co-songwriters Ali Willa Milner, Charlie McClean); “Here and Now” (co-songwriters Ali Willa Milner, Derek Hoffman); “Somebody Else” (co-songwriters Derek Hoffman, Sean Sroka). 

William Prince: “Broken Heart of Mine;” “Easier and Harder:’ “When You Miss Someone.”

Adult Alternative album of the Year:

Motewolonuwok, Jeremy Dutcher 

Revolution, Shawnee Kish 

Alternative Album of the Year:

Here and Now, Aysanabee 

Traditional Roots Album of the Year:

Resilience, Morgan Toney 

Blues Album of the Year:

Scream, Holler & Howl, Blue Moon Marquee

Music Video of the Year:

“Damn Right,” Sterling Larose (Snotty Nose Rez Kids)

This year’s Junos will unfold in Halifax with the main broadcast airing live March 24 countrywide on CBC. Nelly Furtado is set to work double duty as host and performer.

The Junos previously announced that hip-hop pioneer Maestro Fresh Wes will be this year’s inductee into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame, making him the first rapper to receive the career achievement honour.

Calgary sisters and pop duo Tegan and Sara will receive the humanitarian award from actor Elliot Page for their work as advocates for the LGBTQ+ community.

-with CP files

Related Posts