Police Commission appoints new chief of police

OHSWEKEN — Six Nations has a new Chief of Police. Acting Deputy Chief Darren Montour will take his place as Six Nations new Chief of Police on August 17.

Montour has served on Six Nations Police since 1992 and has supervised the force’s Criminal Investigations Unit.

A statement from the Six Nations Police Commission says Montour was selected as part of a succession process established by the Commission and is looking to increase the force’s technology capabilities.

David Smoke stepped into the position of Deputy Chief of Police on August 4. Smoke began with Six Nations Police also in 1992 and has been Sergeant, Staff Sergeant and Acting Deputy Chief.

Montour takes the place of former Chief of Police Glenn Lickers following his retirement.

In a statement from the Police Commission, Lickers is said to have started his policing career with the RCMP in 1976. He was the first and only Chief Six Nations Police has had since its inception in 1990.

“As the first Six Nations Chief of Police, Glenn has played an integral part of laying the foundation for the Six Nations Police Service. Over his 30-year term as Chief of Police he is recognized for his numerous achievements in his efforts toward the safe keeping of the Six Nations of the Grand River Territory through the Six Nations Police Service. His accomplishments range from establishing the organizations structure, participating on the Six Nations Police negotiating team, establishing policies for the operations of the service, and has been a member of a number of Chiefs of Police Associations at the International, National and Provincial level. Glenn was a founding member of the First Nations Chiefs of Police Association including serving as President and Past President. Chief Lickers was the recipient of the Order of Merit of the Police Forces.”

Related Posts