The host Six Nations Slash went against last year’s Presidents Cup winners, the St. Albert Miners on Day 1 of the Presidents Cup Championships at the Iroquois Lacrosse Arena (ILA).

The Miners came to Six Nations lean-and-ready, loaded for bear and looking for a repeat Presidents Cup win as they easily handled the Slash 13-7. It was hard to get a read on the Slash when they spent so much time in the penalty box, ironically most for slashing. Three of them were committed by Brock Boyle, and a five-minute slashing major to Darcy Belyea, which turned into three Miners powerplay goals.

It was 3-0 after the first period and 9-2 after 40 minutes. Jacob Bomberry and Jeff VanEvery scored for the Slash.

Six Nations had a better showing in third with Michael McLaughlin, Travis Bland Torry VanEvery, with two, and Brock Boyle scoring for Six Nations. Ben Snider, Darren Kinnear and Jason Williamson added Miners goals for the 13-7 final. The Miners outshot the Slash 46-38.

Slash goalie Mitch Hanigan faced 45 shots while Matt Hiebert dealt with 38 Slash shots.

It was a busy Monday for the host Six Nations Slash starting with a 12-9 loss to St. Regis in the morning and a 16-8 loss to Kahnawake that night.

After watching the opening games of the tournament, an educated guess would be the Six Nations Rivermen and the St. Albert Miners facing off for the Presidents Cup next week.

Related Posts