SN Tomahawks earn first-ever hardware

SIX NATIONS — The first year for the Senior ‘C’ division to take place in mens lacrosse gave the Six Nations Tomahawks a nearly undefeated season and a shot at bringing home the Legends Cup in the Senior Series Lacrosse (SSL) this past weekend.

This set them up against the Peel Region Tigers, Lakefield Rage, London Blue Devils and the second ranked team, the Huntsville Hawks at the Iroquois Lacrosse Arena.

“These guys came along way, I had put in for this team when the league was announced because there are plenty of guys that could not commit to a Sr B schedule, but wanted to still play. This league suited their schedules,” said long-time Coach Jay Smith.

The five-team loop began its first season back in June, holding weekend events where teams would play three or four games each. Six Nations (13-0-1) claimed the top spot after a unbeaten regular season. Huntsville Hawks (6-7-1) handed the Tomahawks their lone blemish on July 7 with a 9-9 tie.

“With a few late acquisitions like Kedoh Hill (League MVP and High Scorer), Chase Martin, Danton Miller, Layne Smith, who have Sr B, ALL, MSL,, and NLL experience amongst them, we we’re confident this yr. With those additions, along with Drey Martin, we also had 4 players from the last Founders Cup Champions, the 2014 Rebels,” said Smith.

“The trophy itself, has Six Nations roots as the Legends Cup was originally a men’s tournament held here on Six Nations to honour past players and teams. It was donated with the blessing of my aunt and uncle who originally ran the Legends Cup tournament,” he explained.

But the late season surging Rage won their fourth straight game by defeating Huntsville 9-4 to advance into the championship game.

However, the Tomahawks were ready to maintain their top spot as they cast them aside and reigned in the first-ever SSL ‘C’ title with the Legends Cup.

The SSL also handed out end-of-year awards on championship Sunday with the MVP Award and the Offensive Player of the Year Award going to Alex Kedoh Hill of the Six Nations Tomahawks and the Most Sportsmanlike Player Award to Layne Smith of the Six Nations Tomahawks which was shared with Andrew Wood of the Huntsville Hawks.

Related Posts