Bay of Quinte Mohawks re-elect Donald Maracle for Chief

TYENDINAGA — The Mohawks of the Bay of Quinte held elections on December 4 and have re-elected Chief Donald Maracle for another term.

Out of the 977 ballots cast for chief, 908 were counted for Donald Maracle and just 69 votes for his opponent Karoniakeshon Andrew Miracle. A total of 43 ballots for chief were counted as rejected.

Serving as elected councillors for the band will be Carl ‘Ted’ Maracle, Josh Hill, Stacia Loft and Chris Maracle.

There were 1006 ballots counted for councillors with 14 ballots rejected.

Carl ‘Ted’ Maracle received 629 votes, Stacia Loft received 597 votes, Josh Hill received 599 votes and Chris Maracle received 587 votes.

Those in the running who were unsuccessful in their bid for a council seat include Erin Leigh Ferrante with 551 votes, Kurtis ‘Chip’ Brant with 484 votes and Manson Loft with 208 votes.

Related Posts