Gaylord inducted into Hall of Fame

OTTAWA – Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame 2017 Induction Celebrations, where legendary Canadian lacrosse player Gaylord Powless was honoured with one of the country’s highest sporting honour, will be broadcast twice on Sportsnet.

Powless, along with the eight others that make up the Class of 2017, were officially inducted during a ceremony on November 9, 2017 at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre.

Also being honoured this year are fellow athletes Carol Huynh (Wrestling), Cindy Klassen (Speed Skating), Lanny McDonald (Ice Hockey), Mike Weir (Golf) and Simon Whitfield (Triathlon), the legendary Edmonton Grads basketball team, and builders Dr. Robert W. Jackson and Dr. Charles Tator.

Gaylord died on July 28, 2001, but his influence as a role model and inspiration to generations of Indigenous youth carries on. Through the game of lacrosse, Gaylord helped create bridges, friendships, and goodwill between Indigenous and non-Indigenous players and cultures in Canada.

You can learn more about ‘The Marvellous Mohawk’, his lacrosse journey, and what his induction into this prestigious institution means to his family, by reading Lacrosse Legend Gaylord Powless To Be Inducted Into Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame, a story that was published on our website after he was officially named to the Class of 2017.

With this honour, Powless will be enshrined alongside fellow Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame lacrosse inductees Jack Laviolette (1960), William ‘Billy’ Fitzgerald (1961), Patrick ‘Joe’ Lally (1965), Dr. George Beers (1979), Jack Bionda (1982), Ike Hildebrand (1985), and Bill Isaacs (2015). Learn more about these other inductees by visiting the Canada’s Sports HoF page on the CLA website.

For more information on Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame and the 2017 Induction Celebrations, please visit

Related Posts