Knighthawks begin quest for the three-peat

ROCHESTER – The back-to-back Champions Cup winners, the Rochester Knighthawks believe in the old adage that if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it, and, December 28th, will look almost exactly the way they did when they came from behind to defeat the Edmonton Rush 9-6, on May 19th at the Blue Crosse Arena, and claim their second championship in a row.

All but two Knighthawks have returned to the nest for the challenge of a possible three-peat. The only newbee’s in the dressing room are Mac Allen and goaltender Mikey Thompson. But even Thompson is no stranger and will know his way around the Blue Cross Arena. He served for the K-hawks in 2009 and 2010 before ending up in Buffalo where he retired at the end of the 2012 season. The veteran will be coming back as a backup to 2013 goaltender of the year, Matt Vinc.

Defenceman Mac Allen, a restricted free agent, was acquired through the Colorado Mammoth.

The Knighthawks didn’t have to look hard to satisfy their quest for the best, as Six Nations’ Sid Smith will again wear the captains “C” with fellow “bushmate” Cody Jamieson and Mike Kirk wearing the “A”.

Both Smith and Jamieson’s dressing room cubicles are secure for many years to come. Smith signed a seven-year deal with the Knighthawks in the off-season and Jamieson is returning to a 10-year contract.

Another up and coming Six Nations future star is Wenster Green who has signed a two year deal to be at the ready to fill in at a moments notice as a member of the team’s practice squad.

The 2014 season begins Dec. 28th, at 7:30 p.m. at the Blue Cross Arena against the Minnesota Swarm.

Their last warm up game of the preseason was played at the Iroquois Lacrosse Arena, Sunday morning, before the Dec. 16th deadline for final cuts. Calgary came out on top with a 15-9 win over the Knighthawks.

The 2014 Rochester Knighthawks are, forwards: Dan Dawson, Cody Jamieson, Stephen Keogh, Craig Point, Johnny Powless, Cory Vitarelli and Joe Walters; Transition: Joel McCready and Brad Self; Defensemen: Mac Allen, Tyler Burton, Scott Campbell, Paul Dawson, Dylan Evans, Mike Kirk, Ian Llord, Scott Self and Sid Smith; Goaltenders (2): Mikey Thompson and Matt Vinc;Practice Squad: Wenster Green (D) and Mark White (T).

Related Posts

Comments are closed.