NLL Announces 10 new Hall of Fame Members for 2021

PHILADELPHIA — The relaunched NLL Hall of Fame features 10 new members in its Class of 2021 as announced on June 3.

Eight players and two refs will be inducted in the Hall’s first induction since 2016,
including Colin Doyle, Kevin Finneran, John Grant Jr., Casey Powell, Shawn Williams, Pat McCready, Regy Thorpe, Steve Toll, Roy Condon (Referee) and Bill Fox (Referee).

The NLL Hall of Fame Class of 2021 presented by GAIT Lacrosse is as follows:

Colin Doyle (Toronto, San Jose): Two players stand out above the rest in Toronto’s mid-2000s era. Hall of Fame goalie Bob Watson, and Colin Doyle. Doyle, who retired after the 2016 season, won the 1999 Rookie of the Year Award and went on to earn one league MVP and three postseason MVPs. Doyle is tied for the fifth-most games played with Mark Steenhius at 266. His 1,384 career points are fourth all-time in league history, and 857 assists are fourth all-time.

Kevin Finneran (New England, Detroit, Philadelphia, Toronto): One of the most prolific field lacrosse players of the early 2000s, Finneran was a pioneer for American players in box lacrosse. He won four titles in his 10 seasons with Philadelphia, and another in his lone year with the Rock.

John Grant Jr (Rochester, Colorado): John Grant Jr is one of the most prolific players in the history of pro lacrosse, period. His impact on the game cannot be overstated. He set an NLL record with 116 points in a season in 2012 and holds the Rochester records for goals (347) and points (719). From a league perspective, Grant is second all-time in points with 1,446 and goals with 668. He also holds most of the Knighthawks single season offensive records, including goals (54), assists (60), and points (111). Grant holds the Knighthawks record for most points in a single game (15) and has been named league MVP twice.

Casey Powell (Rochester, Anaheim, Orlando, Boston, Colorado): Arguably the best American in the history of box lacrosse, Powell changed the NLL. He was the first American player to be named NLL MVP in 2010, when he played for Orlando and is the all-time leading scorer by an American player in league history

Shawn Williams (Toronto, Rochester, Edmonton, Buffalo): Williams is a six-time NLL All-Star is seventh all-time with 257 games played. He has scored the eighth-most points in league history with 1,152, all while being one of the historic faces of the Knighthawks franchise. He is ninth all-time with 444 goals and seventh all-time with 708 assists.

Pat McCready (Charlotte, Buffalo, Toronto, Rochester): Another one of the faces of the Knighthawks most recent era, McCready is seventh all-time with 1,593 loose balls. His 468 penalty minutes are also seventh most all-time. McCready was a part of the 2012 champion Knighthawks.

Regy Thorpe (Rochester): With 966 career loose balls, Thorpe is one of the most prolific defensemen in Knighthawks history. He spent his entire 15-year career with Rochester, where he won a championship in 2007 as the team’s captain. Thorpe was also the first player-GM in the history of the NLL.

Steve Toll (Toronto, Rochester, Colorado, Edmonton, San Jose): Toll is eighth all-time with 1,562 loose balls. In his 16-year career, he finished with a remarkably low 83 penalty minutes. Toll won the first-ever Transition Player of the Year award in 2007 and won four titles with the Rock and one with the Knighthawks.

Roy Condon worked as an NLL Official from 1989-2011 (23 seasons). He worked three Championship Games (1994, 1995, and 1999). He is scheduled to be the seventh offi-cial inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame. He started refereeing in 1971.

Bill Fox worked as an NLL Official from 1992-2011 (20 seasons). He worked six Championship Games (1993, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2003, & 2010).

This fall’s induction will also celebrate the 15th anniversary of the Hall’s establishment with the inaugural members having been inducted in 2006.

Related Posts