Canadian Sprint Car Nationals coming this weekend

Submitted by Tommy Goudge

OHSWEKEN – Thursday, September 15: Canadian Sprint Car Nationals Test & Tune Friday, September 16: Burger Barn Night Before the Nationals Saturday, September 17: Arrow Express Canadian Sprint Car Nationals.

Ohsweken Speedway officials are pleased to announce a purse increase and special format for the Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Car division at the Burger Barn Night Before the Nationals on Friday, September 16.

The “602 Challenge” will pay the A-Feature winner $1,000, while each of the A-Feature starters will receive a minimum of $200. The Crate Sprint Car portion of the program on the Friday of Canadian Sprint Car Nationals weekend will include group time trials and a 20 lap A-Feature.

The fastest driver in qualifications will earn the $100 Ackland Insurance “Top Gun” Award, and be the first to set a time trial track record for the Crate Sprint Car division at Ohsweken. The top four drivers in qualifications will all have a chance to increase the winner’s payout to $1,602, if they accept the “602 Challenge” of starting at the tail of the A-Feature grid.

Cars from the DIRTcar Pro Sprint division are invited and welcome to enter the “602 Challenge” on Friday, September 16. ALL cars must adhere to the gear rule for the Ohsweken Speedway Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Cars.

The Canadian Sprint Car Nationals on September 17 will now also include the Strickland’s GMC Crate Sprint Cars and HRW Automotive Mini Stocks. The top 12 drivers in the championship points standings in each division will run 12 lap Dash For Cash races on Saturday night.

The Canadian Sprint Car Nationals has been the annual season-closing event at Ohsweken Speedway since 2005, and brings together drivers and teams from several affiliated sanctioning organizations in the area, plus teams and drivers from all over North America. The event has drawn an average of 70 entries for the 11 previous editions, with a total of 238 different drivers from 16 American states, 5 Canadian provinces, Australia, and New Zealand taking part.


  • 2005 – Kenny Jacobs, Holmesville OH
  • 2006 – Steve Poirier, Saint-Mathieu-de-Beloeil QC
  • 2007 – Steve Poirier, Saint-Mathieu-de-Beloeil QC
  • 2008 – Wayne Johnson, Mustang OK
  • 2009 – Shane Stewart, Bixby OK
  • 2010 – Shane Stewart, Bixby OK
  • 2011 – Sam Hafertepe, Jr., Sunnyvale TX
  • 2012 – Steve Poirier, Saint-Mathieu-de-Beloeil QC
  • 2013 – Shane Stewart, Bixby OK
  • 2014 – Jessica Zemken, Sprakers NY
  • 2015 – Bryan Howland, Auburn NY

Related Posts