Haud. Favourites look for your vote in MLL awards

BOSTON, MA (September 6, 2019) – Major League Lacrosse (MLL) today announced the shortlist for the end of regular season awards last Friday on September 6.

This year, MLL fans will be able to vote on six regular season awards: Coca-Cola Most Valuable Player, Warrior Offensive Player of the Year, Warrior Defensive Player of the Year, Brine Goalie of the Year, Tito’s Coach of the Year, and Cascade Rookie of the Year. And this year, both Randy Staats (Mohawk), and Lyle Thompson (Onondaga) are at the helm of nominees.

MLL Honors presented by New Balance will take place at Union Station on October 5th. The event will be hosted by Alexis Perry and streamed live on MajorLeagueLacrosse.com.

The winners of the six awards will be announced live during the broadcasted event. Winners will be selected through a combination of the fan vote and voting by current MLL coaches and general managers. The MLL Honors presented by New Balance falls between the MLL Semifinals, set to be held October 4th at Peter Barton Lacrosse Stadium on the campus of the University of Denver, and the MLL Championship Game, set for October 6th at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, CO. The MLL semi-final and Championship games will all be nationally broadcast on ESPN2.

Voting for the six awards will remain open through September 20, at 5pm ET. Fans may vote as many times as they would like for their favourite players at MajorLeagueLacrosse.com.

Presented to the athlete whose overall performance and impact were proven to be the most valuable to his team’s success during the regular season. Last year the Coca-Cola Most Valuable Player of the year was presented to Rob Pannell.
1. Shayne Jackson, Atlanta Blaze
2. Randy Staats, Atlanta Blaze
3. Bryan Cole, Atlanta Blaze
4. Mark Cockerton, Boston Cannons
5. Lyle Thompson, Chesapeake Bayhawks
6. Sean Sconone, Dallas Rattlers
7. Craig Chick, Dallas Rattlers
8. Zach Currier, Denver Outlaws
9. John Grant Jr., Denver Outlaws
10. Rob Pannell, New York Lizards

Presented to the athlete whose offensive performance was outstanding throughout the regular season.
1. Shayne Jackson, Atlanta Blaze
2. Tommy Palasek, Atlanta Blaze
3. Randy Staats, Atlanta Blaze
4. Bryan Cole, Atlanta Blaze
5. Mark Cockerton, Boston Cannons
6. Lyle Thompson, Chesapeake Bayhawks
7. Steele Stanwick, Chesapeake Bayhawks
8. Chris Aslanian, Denver Outlaws
9. Zach Currier, Denver Outlaws
10. Rob Pannell, New York Lizards

As well, the second annual David Huntley Man of the Year Award will be announced during the MLL Honors presented by New Balance in memory of the former MLL head coach who passed away in December 2017. The award will be presented to a player who has demonstrated “outstanding sportsmanship, professionalism and service to his community.”

The Maverik Players Choice Award will be given out to the player who is considered “the best teammate in Major League Lacrosse.” This award is in its second season and is voted on by the players. The player with the highest percentage of votes from their teammates is named the winner of the Maverik Players Choice Award. In its inaugural season last year, the award was won by Mitch Belisle of the Boston Cannons.

Related Posts